Wild Weather: Taking It To Extremes

View the weekly class calendar
Summer classes start the week of June 18 and end the week of July 23


weatherInstructor: Madeline Goodwinweather
Suggested Age Ranges: 7-10, 9-12
Meets Tuesdays and Thursdays
at 7am Pacific/10am Eastern/3pm UK/10pm Shanghai
Classes begin the week of June 18

 

CLASS DESCRIPTION: 
Hurricanes, tornadoes, wildfires, droughts, floods - summers seem to be full of wild weather. What causes these extreme events, and what effects do they have on the ecosystems and communities they impact? We will spend a week each on common summer weather extremes, looking at the science, environmental impacts, and human adaptations. At the end, students will have the opportunity to share what they have learned (spoken, visual, film, board game, lego models, or any other creative approach!) on extreme weather patterns where they live.

Prerequisites: None

SYLLABUS

Week 1weather
Class 1: Introductions & extreme weather definitions
Class 2: Drought - science & impacts
Week 2
Class 3: Drought - human adaptations
Class 4: Floods - science & impacts
Week 3
Class 5: Floods - human adaptations
Class 6: Hurricanes - science & impacts
Week 4
Class 7: Hurricanes - human adaptationsweather
Class 8: Tornadoes - science & impacts
Week 5
Class 9: Tornadoes - human adaptations
Class 10: Wildfires - science & impacts
Week 6
Class 11: Wildfires - human adaptations
Class 12: Student presentations

 

Spread the love

Comments are closed.